ICU panoramic photo

SCCM 2009 Award

Dr. Halpern (r.) accepting ICU design award on behalf of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at the Society of Critical Care Medicine 2009 Symposium in Nashville, TN.

Completed Projects:


  • Englewood Hospital and Medical Center, Englewood, NJ

  • Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck, NJ

  • Shaare Zedek Medical Center, Jerusalem, Israel

  • Saint Barnabas Medical Center, Livingston, NJ

  • Somerset Medical Center, Somerville, NJ

  • ICU Room at Intelligent Hospital Pavilion at HIMSS Orlando, FL, February 2014

  • ICU of the Future at American Association for Thoracic Surgery (AATS) Philadelphia, PA, May 2011

  • Saratoga Hospital, Saratoga Springs, NY

  • Excela Health, Greensburg, PA


  • Advance Practice Providers Award of Excellence 2021 Collaborative Champion Award, given October 2021

  • Recipient of the Founders Special Recognition Award, given at 50th Critical Care Congress (2021), Society of Critical Care Medicine

  • “Member Spotlight: Neil A. Halpern,” Society of Critical Care Medicine,, November 2020. Posted on LinkedIn and Twitter
    member spotlight

  • Recipient of the 2019 Barry A. Shapiro Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Management, SCCM San Diego, CA, February 2019

  • Accepted the Family-Centered Care Innovation Award (Honorable Mention) on behalf of the Adult Medical-Surgical ICU of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at the SCCM 43rd Critical Care Congress, San Francisco, CA 2014

  • Roger C. Bone Memorial Lecture Recipient, CHEST 2012, Atlanta, GA

  • “Top Doctors: Best Critical Care Specialists,” U.S. News and World Report, 2012

  • “Best Doctors in Critical Care Medicine,” Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., 2012

  • New York Super Doctors, Key Professional Media, Inc. 2008-2012

  • “Top Doctors,” U.S. News and World Report, 2011

  • AACC (American College of Clinical Chemistry) Outstanding Speaker Award, 2010

  • Winner of the 2009 ICU Design Award Citation in conjunction with Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. This award is sponsored by Society of Critical Care Medicine, American Institute of Architecture Healthcare Division and AACN American Association of Critical Care Nurses

  • “Twenty Who Are Making a Difference,” Health Care Design, December 2008

  • Top Doctors in New York Metro Area, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd.